Un año de Littera Visigothica! / A year of Littera Visigothica!

Just over a year ago I started the blog Littera Visigothica; it is amazing how fast time flies! Back then, I already had some years of experience in managing De Re Palaeographica, where I compile news about conferences or other scientific meetings that may be of interest to those of us who work with medieval manuscript sources. Getting to know foreign researchers and professionals active online, De Re was soon too small for me so I decided to start the adventure that is being Littera. For me, Littera is not just a means to provide information and resources on Visigothic script, but also a meeting point for all of those who work with these sources. The benefits the blog has brought to my research and to me throughout this year have been far greater than I thought. I am very grateful to all of you.

 

News

This month I have been making changes on the blog to give it a more defined structure and to draw some basic lines of work. Mainly:

  • I added a new page devoted to “Teaching Visigothic script” from where you can access not only to all the material I used for the Workshop in Visigothic script I taught at the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies* – University of Toronto last Spring, but also to a well-defined list by topics of all the posts that have been already published and the ones to come. I hope this new page will be especially helpful to students as well as to professors teaching Spanish Latin Palaeography.
  • I also added another page for networking purposes, “Networking!”, where you can read about the state of the art about the study of Visigothic script and of its manuscript sources. I am trying to set up a network to promote dialogue and interdisciplinary collaboration among researchers working with these sources, to exchange problems or doubts.
  • Next month another new series of posts will start. I have called it “Codex of the month”. You can read more about it here.
  • Finally, the sections “About”, “Visigothic script timeline” aka the online catalog, and“Bibliography” have been updated.

 I hope you like the changes and if you have any suggestions or comments please do not hesitate to contact me.

* By the way, is it cool or not the new website of the PIMS I made? [works sited]

 

Muchas gracias / Many thanks!

 

via Un año de Littera Visigothica! / A year of Littera Visigothica!.

via Un año de Littera Visigothica! / A year of Littera Visigothica!.

Leave a Reply

