A Celebration of a Year’s Work: A Medieval Invisibility Cloak

Add your thoughts here… (optional)

Yesterday was my last day’s work at the British Library in my role as Research Associate on the Digital Index of Middle English Verse. To celebrate, I thought that I’d just make a short post that revels in what has been undoubtedly my favourite element of the past year: the fact that almost every one of the three hundred manuscript books that I’ve taken into my hands has presented a little surprise – something unexpected that has brightened my day. My last day at work gave me a particularly lovely one of these moments. I leafed through British Library, MS Royal 17 A.III, a book comprising mainly medical recipes of the fifteenth century. I stopped still when I noticed a sixteenth-century annotation in the margin that read:

‘For Invisibility’

Wait, what?

This was particularly interesting, as the other recipes in the book are the usual types that one finds…

View original post 410 more words

Leave a Reply

